Toggle Content

Main Menu

 HOME CLUB COMMUNITY EVENTS Members options Web

User Info


Welcome Anonymous

Nickname
Password

Membership:
Latest: escort
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 440

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 32
Total: 32
Who Is Where:
 Visitors:
01: Photo Gallery
02: Photo Gallery
03: Photo Gallery
04: Photo Gallery
05: WeatherHarvest
06: Photo Gallery
07: My Account
08: Photo Gallery
09: Home
10: Home
11: Photo Gallery
12: Photo Gallery
13: Photo Gallery
14: Photo Gallery
15: Photo Gallery
16: Photo Gallery
17: Photo Gallery
18: My Account
19: Surveys
20: Home
21: Surveys
22: News
23: Community Forums
24: Photo Gallery
25: Photo Gallery
26: WeatherHarvest
27: Photo Gallery
28: Photo Gallery
29: My Account
30: Photo Gallery
31: Photo Gallery
32: Photo Gallery

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!

Austin Weather

Help Save Pease Park... Again

Monday, November 29, 2010 (21:41:49) Event
Heads Up Texas Disc Golfers, your help is needed, and quickly!

The City recently announced that they will be closing Pease Park Disc Golf Course by the end of the year. This announcement comes months after telling the community that the course would remain open until there was another course opened (possibly at Roy Guerrero Park) so that the other area courses are not drastically overused, drastically exaggerating environmental impact at every other area course. This was a complete lie. There will be no course at Roy G for many months, if ever. City officials strung us along, just to shut us up and announce their real intentions while the citizens were not paying attention. They did this on a Friday afternoon at 4:45 pm right before the short Thanksgiving week.

Here is a link to that KXAN story...
http://www.kxan.com/dpp/news/local/disc-golf-almost-done-at-pease-park-

The City also promised that they would work towards (or at least consider) reinstating some aspect of the course at Pease once the storm-water work is completed. Given that this information came from City officials, it is unclear what will be the final result, especially with their recent track record of inconsistent stories.

So, if you are interested in having future disc golf recreation in Austin, or are interested in simply having city officials which tell the truth and follow ethical protocol standards, PLEASE make yourselves heard. There is no chance that they will ever show the community respect if folks simply accept this as the way government works.

If you wish to contact the following people to express your opinion, here are the phone numbers of the elected representatives.

You may e-mail them using this website
http://www.ci.austin.tx.us/council/groupemail.htm

Mayor Lee Leffingwell - (512) 974-2250
Council Member Chris Riley - (512) 974-2260
Council Member Mike Martinez - (512) 974-2264
Council Member Randi Shade - (512) 974-2255
Council Member Laura Morrison - (512) 974-2258
Council Member Bill Spelman - (512) 974-2256
Council Member Sheryl Cole - (512) 974-2266
Sara Hensley, PARD Director – (512) 974-6716
Assistant City manager Bert Lumbreras – (512) 974-7717

To widen the scope of your responses, here are the email addresses of the Mayor and Council, many of their aides, the Parks Dept. Director and 2 of the Assistant Directors, and the Austin Parks Board. ALL of these people need to hear about this from you, and they need to hear about it often. The groups opposed to Pease are getting to these influential members often and vocally, the disc golf community now needs to do the same.

The city is, at best, breaking their word about keeping the course open until a new course is completely installed and operating. This was a publicly stated commitment.

Mayor & Council
Lee.Leffingwell@ci.austin.tx.us; Chris.Riley@ci.austin.tx.us; Mike.Martinez@ci.austin.tx.us; Randi.Shade@ci.austin.tx.us; Laura.Morrison@ci.austin.tx.us; Bill.Spelman@ci.austin.tx.us; Sheryl.Cole@ci.austin.tx.us

Mayor\Council Aides
Mark.Nathan@ci.austin.tx.us; Nancy.Williams@ci.austin.tx.us; Amy.Everhart@ci.austin.tx.us; Matt.Curtis@ci.austin.tx.us; Janet.Jackson@ci.austin.tx.us; Lewis.Leff@ci.austin.tx.us; Matt.Parkerson@ci.austin.tx.us; bobby.garza@ci.austin.tx.us; Andrew.Moore@ci.austin.tx.us; Laura.Williamson@ci.austin.tx.us; Elaine.Diaz@ci.austin.tx.us; Glen.Coleman@ci.austin.tx.us; Grace.Corpus@ci.austin.tx.us; Robert.Levinski@ci.austin.tx.us; Barbara.Rush@ci.austin.tx.us; Barksdale.English@ci.austin.tx.us; deena.estrada@ci.austin.tx.us; Beverly.Wilson@ci.austin.tx.us; Stephanie.McDonald@ci.austin.tx.us; Tara.Long@ci.austin.tx.us


PARD Director & Assistant Directors
Sara.Hensley@ci.austin.tx.us; Cora.Wright@ci.austin.tx.us; Kelly.Snook@ci.austin.tx.us


Austin Parks Board
lhg@grandecom.net; saramarler@sbcglobal.net; whabell@gmail.com; jfrancell@tnc.org; clee.parks@gmail.com; jerry.perales@gmail.com; janehrivera@austin.rr.com

WannaPlayDiscGolf - Brushy Creek Doubles - Day After Thanksgiving

Monday, November 22, 2010 (17:44:21) Event
Wanna Play Disc Golf will be hosting Black Friday Doubles the day after Thanksgiving.
This event will be held at the Brushy Creek Sports Park and we will be raising money to support Army SPC Zach Bays and his family travel back home after his Honorable Discharge.
This is NOT random Dub's so choose a partner wisely.
Entry fee will be $25.00 per team. This will include ACE POT (not optional).
We will run one division and payout 30% of the field.
Wanna Play Disc Golf will guarantee $150 added cash to the payout!
This event will be a flex start from 9:30am to noon.
Format
1 round (of 9 holes) - Best Shot
1 round (of 9 holes) - Best Score
Come on out and support a Disc Golfing Army Veteran the best way we know how!

33rd Waterloo Classic Results

Wednesday, October 20, 2010 (05:00:30) Waterloo Event
You can review the folowing 33rd Waterloo results by clicking the links below:

DOUBLES

4 ROUND PDGA TOURNAMENT

Community Meeting - Roy G. Guerrero

Friday, October 01, 2010 (18:00:44) Event
When: October 6th 6:00 - 7:30 PM
Location: Ruiz Branch Library 1600 Grove St.

Click here to download the flyer

Your support will be a critical factor in securing the parkland for a new 18-hole disc golf course at Roy G. Guerrero - Colorado River Park. Come show your face, and positively interact with the community, it's their parkland which will potentially house Austin's next disc golf course.

Fall 2010 Waterleague

Wednesday, September 22, 2010 (22:15:03) Event
Thursday Nights at Zilker Disc Golf Course
Starting September 23, 2010
Sign Up & Flex Start each Thursday: 5:00 – 5:30 pm
This will be a 6-week singles league

Click here to download the flyer

Click here to view the forum topic